skip navigation

About Iowa Youth Rugby Association

The Iowa Youth Rugby Association (IAYRA) is the sanctioning body for all youth rugby in the State of Iowa. The IAYRA became the sanctioning body for youth rugby in October 2010 when it was awarded Emerging State Based Rugby Organization status by USA Rugby. The IAYRA employs many of the structures and strategies developed for the Central Iowa Rugby Metro League (CIRML), started in 2010 as the first rugby Sevens league in the Nation, to accelerate the growth of rugby in Iowa over a wide range of leagues and teams towards future Varsity recognition.

The IAYRA is committed to supporting boys and girls rugby through individual high school based teams, non-contact recreational youth and middle school leagues to full contact All-State teams. To do this, the IAYRA is composed of a Board of Directors that is focused on economic sustainability, best practices, equitable oversight and a Coaches Association that is focused on league quality. To learn more about us, how you can volunteer, or the leagues and teams supported by the IAYRA, please Email Us.

The IAYRA Board of Directors, or Admin team, are volunteer administrators. Please allow for 24-48 hours for a reply. Thank you!

Contact Us!

Dennis Oliver

Executive Director | State Representative

Brad Lewis

Coaches Association Chair- Boys League

Corey Peterman

Coaches Association Chair- Girls League

Brent Piper

Director of Coaches

Patrick Lausen

Director of Operations

Clinton Gadbury

Director of Youth Development

Matt Wilson

Matt Wilson

Director of Finance

IAYRA Organizational Chart

In the summer of 2021, the IAYRA Rugby Board worked to update the organizational structure, establish roles and responsibilities, and create committees comprised of coaches to drive new growth of youth rugby in the state of Iowa. 

There are still positions that need to be filled, including Youth Development Director and committee members in all areas. Please contact the appropriate Director for more information.